Defective pixel classes - TUXEDO Computers

  ATTENTION: To use our store you have to activate JavaScript and deactivate script blockers!  
Thank you for your understanding!

Defective pixel classes

For example, an HD+ display with 1,600 x 900 pixels consists of 4.32 million individual screen cells driven by tiny transistors. A Full HD display (1,920 x 1,080) even consists of 6.22 million cells.
With such a gigantic number it is possible that despite the highest quality standards one or more individual cells do not function perfectly and are permanently switched on or off. The result is permanently glowing or permanently black pixels on the screen.
The ISO 13406-2 standard defines quality classes in this respect and ensures transparency with regard to warranty claims by end customers, dealers and wholesalers against manufacturers. With the commitment to an ISO defect class, monitor manufacturers undertake to comply with the respective standard in series production. The defective pixels are based - as explained in the following table - on the number of defective pixels and the specific error type. The number of defective pixels is defined per 1 million pixels.
The following three error types are distinguished:
  • Error typ 1: persistent pixel
  • Error typ 2: permanently black pixel
  • Error typ 3: defective subpixel either permanently lit (red, green, blue) or permanently black
The ISO error classes are defined as follows:
All notebooks sold by us are defective pixel classe II unless otherwise stated.